To edit the approval process, go to Settings > Company Settings > Manage Users.
If you are the company administrator and setting up the approval process, this brief article will help explain how to design your approval workflow.
Let's imagine we have 4 users:
Bob - Sales
Mary - VP of Sales
Dick - CEO
Laura - Finance (AP)
Bob sends his expense reports (or timesheets) to Mary to approve. Mary reviews these and they sends them to the next approver, Laura. In this scenerio, Bob and Mary's user settings are as follows:
Notice "Reports User Approves Are Sent To" is blank for Bob because he does not approve employee expense reports.
For Mary, she sends her personal expense reports to Dick for approval, but after she approves employee reports (Bob), they get sent to Laura in finance to approve next.
If you are the last user in the approval chain, who is approving reports, the "Reports User Approves Are Sent To" field must be blank. If you set yourself as the "Next Approver", all approved reports will STILL be shown as pending.
The administrators will need to manually update the approval workflow when a user has been removed from the company account.
TriNet Expense "One-Click Approval" Feature
We found incidents where an approver would select the approve button, but forgot to send the expense report to the Next Approver (by selecting the Submit button). Therefore, we have added a new feature called "One-Click Approval" where the report is automatically sent to the next approver once the user selects the Approve button.
To enable one click approval, please go to Settings> Company Settings and check box "Enable One-Click Approval"
*Please note that this feature only works for users with the NEXT APPROVER setup.
Restrictions To Users When Approving Reports
When a user is part of the company, we restrict company approvers from changing the approval path once a report has been approved. Meaning the "My Approver" in the drop-down is hidden for any user who has a "Next Approver" setup by their company or themselves.
"Allow User Role to Setup Bookkeeper" Feature
Some companies have particular workflows for their expense report approval process. Majority of companies submit to approvers who then submit to another approver or bookkeeper. Some of our customers would like to give their users the ability to setup a bookkeeper. The user permission "Allow User Role to Setup Bookkeeper" gives employees with the user role the ability to setup a bookkeeper and submit a report directly to the bookkeeper to bypass the approval process. When a report is submitted directly to a bookkeeper, the report is immediately marked as approved essentially bypassing the approval process.
To enable this user permission, please go to Settings > Company Settings and check box "Allow User Role to Setup Bookkeeper" > Save.
If you need assistance, contact firstname.lastname@example.org